Dear Mother,

 

thankyou1

Thank you for bearing me in your body for 9 months, enduring the discomforts and challenges that a growing baby placed on you. Thank you for your delight at my rolls, punches, and kicks within, for your kind words to me and prayers for me as you awaited the day of my birth. And when that day came with all the anticipation, pain, difficulty and joy, thank you for giving yourself and experiencing it all to bring me into this world.

Thank you for holding me in your arms when I was born, holding me close, loving me; for kisses on my cheeks, belly and feet; for those sleepless nights that followed as I tried to figure out this whole daytime-nighttime thing. And thank you for the many, many nights that followed that, when either because of hunger, teething, or the need to be close, you woke up to minister to my needs when I cried.

Thank you, sweet Mama.

Thank you for the awful, messy diapers and diaper rashes you cleaned and tended to; for brushing my teeth, brushing my hair, and fixing it so pretty; for wiping my runny nose; for bandaging my wounds; for prayers when I was sick.

Thank you for waking up too early for the amount of sleep you had to put breakfast in my belly; for the many, many meals you prepared, and served, and cleaned up after, when there was no one around to help. Thank you for peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Toasted. For bowls of oatmeal with the brown sugar and milk sitting on top.

Thank you for bringing me into bed with you when I awoke with a bad dream, for calming my childish fears. Thank you for keeping us home to school, and for staying home yourself. Thank you for that stability, for always being there–even when it may have felt nice to you to be very far away. πŸ™‚

Thank you for the patience you had for me, to let me help you in the kitchen, to let me help with the babies, to learn.

Thank you for bedtime prayers.

Thank you for being my mama, sweet Mother; for all those little things that are a part of the special love and sacrifice of motherhood, special bond of child to parent and vice versa, and for which I never thanked you.

I am thankful for you, and for all the decisions that at the time may have seemed so unfair but were made out of protection, love, and wisdom, if not sometimes for the sake of your own sanity, which is very important too. πŸ˜‰

Thank you, Mom, for this and so much more, done for me and all your others–your loads and loads of others. Speaking of loads–laundry! How could I forget the laundry? Thank you for the hours upon hours you spent making sure we had clothes upon our backs, if not always socks upon our feet, but only for the notorious sock bag. πŸ™‚

I love you so much, sweet lady. Thank you for being my mother.

Your daughter with much love,

Lauren

mothers-day-card-template-13-470x260

 

Leave a Reply

